Labor Day

2014-07-24 12.47.58

September 7 is Labor Day. Labor Day has been celebrated as a national holiday since 1887. It is always on the first Monday in September. When I was growing up, it was the last day before school started, the last day to wear white, the last day to swim, and the last day to wear sandals and summer clothes. The day after Labor Day I began wearing fall clothes and saddle oxfords. To me, it was the end of summer and the beginning of a new school year and football season. I still think of it as the end of summer and the beginning of fall – and all the fun fall events, but I must confess, I expect to wear sandals and cool clothes tomorrow and for many days to come.

Psalm 74:17 You have fixed all the boundaries of the earth; you have made summer and winter.

~N

Leave a comment