National Caffeine Awareness Month

NOLA summer 2013 074

This day is set aside for us to become more aware of the caffeine we consume. Coffee is probably the biggest source for most of us, and there is always debate over whether it’s good or bad for us. I looked up a few facts. Of the top 15 heaviest coffee drinkers, guess what profession is number one? Scientists and lab technicians. I think they should know all about the dangers of caffeine, and yet they are consuming the most—at least according to that one study. Another thing about the scientists: the first web cam was made so a group of Cambridge University scientists could stream live footage so that they would know when the coffee pot in the lab was empty. This was in 1991, before those handy Keurig machines. I was also surprised to learn there are better times to be drinking coffee: 9:30-11:30 a.m. and 1:30-5 p.m. This is bad news for early risers like me. Becoming more aware of caffeine, the good and the bad, has made me more appreciative of my morning coffee, especially on a cold day like today.

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. I Corinthians 10:31

 

Leave a comment